European Union
EU Directive on Whistleblowing
16 Dec 2019 - Present

In 2019 the European Union adopted a far-reaching Directive on the protection of persons who report breaches of Union law.

The ‘EU Directive on Whistleblowing’ entered into force on the 16th of December 2019 and each of the 27 EU Member States have until the 17th of December 2021 to transpose its provisions into their national legal and institutional systems.

The EU Whistleblowing Meter was created by the Whistleblowing International Network to track the progress of transposition across all 27 Member States.

In partnership with

Promise History

Luxembourg - Transposition of the EU Directive on Whistleblowing

Not started

In a parliamentary question addressed to the Luxembourg Minister of Justice, concerning the channels for disclosure and the timeline of the transposition of the Directive, the Minister of Justice, Sam Tanson, in her response, gave important hints for the future transposition.

Firstly, the Minister of Justice argued that Luxembourg is in favour of a system where a whistleblower would have the possibility to blow the whistle where he or she desires to (even directly to the public). This position was refused by the majority of Member States in the Council. Then, the Minister of Justice highlighted that Luxembourg will not limit the disclosures to EU law (as the Directive foresees) but it will extend its material scope to all national law. Finally, the Minister of Justice did not provide any details on the timeline of the transposition in Luxembourg.

Parliamentary Question:

Response from:

Not started
Started tracking on: 16-Dec-2019
Developed in partnership with