In office
Progressive Conservative Party of Ontario
1,326 days in office
Ontario's 42nd Parliament
07 Jun 2018 - Present

The 2018 Ontario general election was held on June 7, 2018 to elect the 124 members of the 42nd Parliament of Ontario.

The Progressive Conservative Party of Ontario, led by Doug Ford, won a majority government with 76 of the 124 seats in the legislature. The incumbent Liberal government was effectively swept out of Parliament, securing only 7 seats in the legislature and consequently having to surrender official party status.

In partnership with

Promise History

1.11.24 - “Develop our natural resources: Move forward with resource revenue sharing from mining, forestry and aggregates to help Northern towns and Indigenous communities share in resource development”

Not yet rated

Although the Ontario government has reiterated its commitment to share resource revenues with Northern towns and Indigenous communities, no steps have been taken to fulfill this promise to date.

“The Minister for Northern Development and Mines says northern Ontario communities won’t get a cut of resource revenue until next year, at the earliest. He says details won’t likely be released until 2020 and possibly not until that year’s fall economic statement.”

Not yet rated
Started tracking on: 29-Jun-2018

Reference Documents

“Ontario and First Nations partners have signed historic resource revenue sharing agreements in mining and forestry - the first of their kind in the province. These agreements with First Nations, represented by Grand Council Treaty #3, Wabun Tribal Council and Mushkegowuk Council, commit Ontario to sharing 45 per cent of government revenues from forestry stumpage, 40 per cent of the annual mining tax and royalties from active mines at the time the agreements were signed, and 45 per cent from future mines in the areas covered by the agreements.”

Developed in partnership with