New Brunswick
In office
Progressive Conservative Party of New Brunswick
1,501 days in office
59th legislature of New Brunswick
09 Nov 2018 - 17 Aug 2020
60th legislature of New Brunswick
29 Sep 2020 - Present

The 2020 New Brunswick general election was held on September 14 to elect the 49 members of the 60th Legislative Assembly of New Brunswick.

The Progressive Conservative Party, led by incumbent Premier Blaine Higgs, won 27 seats, forming a majority government. Higgs was head of a minority government since the 2018 elections.

In partnership with

Promise History

2.05.04 - “[We] will continue to protect woods and waterways by: Doubling conserved and protected areas in the province by the end of this year [2020] from 4.6% to 10%, which marks the largest conservation gain in the history of New Brunswick.”


« À l’automne 2019, le gouvernement de Blaine Higgs annonçait que 400 000 hectares supplémentaires deviendraient des terres protégées avant la fin de 2020. La superficie des aires protégées passerait donc ainsi de 4,9 % à 10 % du territoire.

Plus d’un an après l’échéance, la promesse n’a pas été respectée. […] L’échéance est à présent repoussée à 2023. »

In progress

“The provincial government has launched the New Brunswick Nature Legacy Information Hub where provincial residents can nominate specific areas for protection and share information on areas under consideration to be protected.”

Not yet rated
Started tracking on: 29-Sep-2020

Reference Documents

Developed in partnership with